Categories
Artistry 105

Artistry 105: The ProfLinc Session.

This week we bring to you yet another edition of artistry 105 as we explore the journey that our local artists, our local heros, in Zimbabwe have travelled. These interviews act as an exchange medium where you give the artist your time and they give you their experiences. In this session we have managed to interview Lincoln Kademeteme better known as ProfLinc.

img-20181205-wa0021

Q: Who is ProfLinc?
A: ProfLinc is a 20 year old Zimbabwean poet and Spoken Word Artist born Lincoln Kademeteme.

Q: How do you identify yourself in term of the arts industry?
A: I’m not much of an educator or the conscious kind of poet. I identify myself as an entertainor.

Q: What are the main themes in your work?
A: I’m more inclined torwards love and religion. Most of my poems are love poems with a few of religion.

Q: In light of your identification and main themes what have you managed to attain as a poet?
A: Although I’m a love poet sometimes I turn out to dwell on religion. I’m more of an entertainer with words of wisdom.

Q: What have you achieved as a Spoken Word artist and poet?
A: Most of my works are still on the pages, I have one anthology entitled The Transition. I have taken in several shows around Harare including Poetry Mondays at Red Cafe Harare, Brad Odilo’s Penta5cript 3 Launch, The AfroPlaylist and Rae Lyric’s Lounge among others.

Q: What are some of the challenges you have faced in your career as a poet?
A: Most of the times the audience’s reaction may not turn out as expected. Lack of funding on projects meaning that the art has to go down the list of priorities.

Q: In the word of Spoken Word who do you look up to and why?
A: SoProfound. He is more of an entertainer like myself.

Q: What’s your view of Spoken Word as an arts industry in Zimbabwe?
A: I think it is yet to be appreciated mostly because sponsors do not want to run the risk of organising such events.

Q: Have you reached the peak of your career? If not why not?
A: I’m afraid I haven’t, maybe it’s because my art and my academics have been colliding.

Q: What do you suggest someone facing the same problem should do?
A: Finding manager is key so that he can manage the professional side of things.

Q: Since the industry is not paying how do you suggest one can afford a manager?
A: A performance fee based on the artisit’s reputation is the first thing to do. Also getting a friend or any other close person as a manager.

Q: As a poet what have you done to help other upcoming poets?
A: I have been sharing ideas with those new to the industry via social media and by attending workshops and talkshows.

Q: Do you think the government can help artsist to grow? If so how?
A: Yes. By building more functional community halls and funding tours.

Q: What can you say to someone who wants to follow the same steps you are taking?
A: At first exposure ruins your efforts as people rarely appreciate you if they don’t know you but Spoken Word is a better version of a person.

For these and other stories connect with Poetrama on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Leave a comment